Senate Ag Chair Announces Plans To Retire In 2025

The current chairwoman of the Senate Agriculture Committee says she will not seek re-election to the Senate when her term expires in 2025.  Michigan Democrat Debbie Stabenow made the announcement in a statement Thursday morning that she will retire from the Senate after four terms.  Stabenow was first elected from Michigan in 2000, unseating Republican Spencer Abraham.  After the defeat of Arkansas’ Blanche Lincoln in 2010, Stabenow became the top Democrat on the Ag Committee, serving as chair from 2011 to 2015 and again since 2021.