Southeast Minnesota residents with an idea to strengthen
sustainability in their community can now apply for partnership support from the University of
Minnesota Extension Southeast Regional Sustainable Development Partnership (Southeast
Southeast RSDP supports local innovation by connecting community ideas to University of
Minnesota resources. Community members work on diverse project teams that research, design
and plan local sustainability projects with University students, faculty and staff.
Southeast RSDP has several resource opportunities to support community-university
partnerships. Residents and organizations are encouraged to submit their sustainability
project ideas through the RSDP idea brief application. This annual call for ideas has
supported hundreds of sustainability projects in the Southeast region for over twenty-five
years. RSDP is also seeking applications from local farmers interested in building a deep
winter greenhouse using the latest University researched design. Additionally, RSDP is
launching a new program, “Empowering Small Minnesota Communities,” to help small
Minnesota communities benefit from federal, state and local investments. This program is
seeking applications from communities interested in collaborating with the University to
advance or plan projects that support sustainable economic, social, or transportation
“We are seeking ideas and expertise from Southeast Minnesota residents that help to shape
resilient communities where all people have the opportunity to thrive,” said Southeast RSDP
Executive Director Andi Sutton. “I encourage people to get in touch with me to talk about their
ideas for making our communities more sustainable places.”
Applications for all resources are being accepted through February 14. Visit the link to read more about the programs and to apply. Community
members are encouraged to contact Sutton directly at [email protected] or 857-928-4196 to
discuss their ideas and ask questions. Successful projects are selected by the Southeast RSDP
community-university governing board through a competitive process.
The Southeast RSDP serves Blue Earth, Faribault, Dodge, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston,
LeSueur, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Fillmore, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca and Winona
counties and the sovereign Native Nation of Prairie Island Indian Community.