Individuals and families who have made significant contributions through pork promotion, consumer and producer education, youth mentoring, and service to the pork industry were recognized by the Minnesota Pork Board (MPB) at the annual Award Recognition Reception on February 12 at the Mayo Clinic Health System Event Center in Mankato, Minnesota.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Distinguished Service: Dave Preisler
  • Environmental Steward: Jay Moore
  • Family of the Year: Anderson Family
  • Pork Promoter of the Year: Nancy Hovel
  • Swine Manager of the Year: Aaron Hoffmann
  • Legislator of Distinction: Sen. Bill Weber

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual or group who has contributed to the long-term success of Minnesota pig farmers.

The Environmental Steward Award recognizes an individual and/or operation demonstrating the positive contributions pig farmers make to the natural environment.

The Family of the Year Award honors a farm family who has contributed to the long-term success of Minnesota’s pig-raising traditions.

The Pork Promoter of the Year Award highlights an individual, couple, or family who has done an outstanding job promoting pork products and the raising of pigs.

The Swine Manager of the Year Award distinguishes an employee (non-owner) who excels in the management and care of pigs.

New to the Minnesota Pork Awards line-up is the Legislator of Distinction Award. This award identifies a government ally in St. Paul who fights for pig farmers and agriculture.